arrow_back_iosMelanie - 25

star_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border
0.00
location_onRivervale
Melanie profile photo
doneBabysitting
doneNannying
clearBefore School Care
doneAfter School Care
clearAu Pair
donePrimary School Tutoring
doneHigh School Tutoring

Hi there! My name is Melanie. I’m currently completing my masters degree in writing and literature, specialising in children’s books! I love working with young people which is why I’ve volunteered in writing programs for children, tutored kids and teens both professionally and as a volunteer, and worked as a nanny for the greater part of last year. I love the way kids question everything and I have so much fun being part of their lives as they learn and grow! I really enjoy cooking, having worked in restaurants all through my teen years, so I’m comfortable preparing meals if necessary. I also have coeliac disease so I know about dietary restrictions and the level of care required to ensure your kids eat safely. At the moment, I’m hoping to find a family that needs regular and consistent help throughout the week or on weekends, although I’d also be happy to help out here and there if it’s just occasional babysitting or tutoring you’re after. I have a car and I grew up in the country so I don’t mind travelling at all. I’m also very happy to tutor kids and teenagers, especially in subjects like English, Geography or History. I speak Italian and Japanese, both of which I’ve studied at university, so could help out in those where needed as well. If you have any questions, please feel free to reach out to me. I hope to hear from you soon!

Skills and Qualificationvs

Working With Children Check (Paid) - Verified
Verified On: 21/11/2019
Expires On: 23/4/2022

Childcare Experience

For the greater part of last year, I worked with a beautiful family who had an 8 year old daughter. I provided before school and after school care, preparing her snacks and occasional meals. I helped her with homework and took her to her afterschool activities. I also have a number of young nieces, nephews and cousins, aged between 2 and 10. I’ve worked with children and teens as tutor and mentor.

Tutoring Experience

I’ve worked off and on as a tutor since I was around the age of 15, when I started helping out primary aged kids. Since I started my undergraduate degree in law in 2013 at UWA, I’ve also been working with teenagers and WACE students doing English, History and Geography, subjects I completed with a WACE score of 97. Now I’m completing a masters degree in writing and literature, so I’m very confident tutoring in those areas. A huge part of my degree and my professional experience has involved writing, editing and proofreading, so I’d also be very happy to help older teens with essays and assignments, even if they don’t necessarily need help with the coursework. I also speak Italian and Japanese, so I would be happy to help out with those, too.

Primary School

School Years: Kindergarten, Year 1, Year 2, Year 3, Year 4, Year 5, Year 6
Subjects: English, Reading, Maths, Italian, Japanese

High School

School Years: Year 7, Year 8, Year 9, Year 10, Year 11, Year 12
Subjects: English, Humanities, Italian, Japanese, Public Speaking & Debating