Debra profile photo

Debra - 27

Debra profile photo
starstarstarstarstar
5.00 Average Rating
1 Day Response Rate
2 Parent Reviews
3Jobs Completed
0Jobs Cancelled

Childcare Jobs

check_boxBabysitting
check_boxNannying
check_boxBefore School Care
check_boxAfter School Care

Au Pair Jobs

radio_button_uncheckedYes
check_circleNo

Tutoring Jobs

check_boxPrimary School
check_boxHigh School

Hi there! I am in my last year of university, where I am studying to be a teacher. For the past 4 years I have also worked as a frog researcher, which has involved a lot of work with various primary and high schools on the Sunshine Coast. As this is my last year of uni, I am taking a step back from my research and thus have a fair amount of free time on my hands! I love interacting with kids of all ages and have plenty of experience entertaining them - thanks to my sisters (aged 7 & 9) and my niece and nephew (aged 3 & 8). Please don’t hesitate to contact me if you’d like to chat more 😊

Parent Reviews

2 families in your area recommended Debra...
"Deb is so lovely and the kids found her cool and relatable. Will absolutely be offering more work her way "
From Hannah - Riverhills
"Debra was great! Built a good rapport with the boys quickly. Highly recommended. :-)"
From Louise - Doolandella

First Aid & Accreditation

  • Working With Children Check (Paid) - Verified
    Verified On: 16/1/2020
    Expires On: 5/10/2020

Special Needs Experience

I have had some training in my degree through a recent course focussing on building inclusive classrooms. I also have taught students who have a disability during my practical experience.

Childcare Experience

I have been looking after children of varying ages since around 2012. I started with babysitting for family friends (kids aged ~8 months to 11 years) when I was in high school, and then have continued through looking after my sisters (7 & 9) and my niece and nephew (3 & 8). I also have recently gained experience with older kids through my practical placement for my university degree. I find working with kids to be really enjoyable, which is why I have decided to change my career to teaching! I particularly love getting them outside and into nature, where we can play imaginative games or explore the natural world. Each kid has their own ideas though - so I’m happy to go with the flow based on their interests!

Tutoring Experience

I am most passionate about STEM subjects, as this is my main background. I have experience in maths and science, and have done a bit of coding through my work. That said, I have also completed training for the Queensland Ready Reading Program and would be happy to help with that too! In terms of teaching experience, I am currently in my final year of my Master of Teaching (Secondary). I have already completed three previous placements where I gained practical teaching experience.

Primary School

School Years: Kindergarten, Year 1, Year 2, Year 3, Year 4, Year 5, Year 6
Subjects: Reading, Maths, Coding, Typing

High School

School Years: Year 7, Year 8, Year 9, Year 10, Year 11, Year 12
Subjects: Mathematics, Sciences, Coding