Jorja profile photo

Jorja - 32

Jorja profile photo
starstarstarstarstar_half
4.75 Average Rating
1 Day Response Rate
1 Parent Reviews
1Jobs Completed
0Jobs Cancelled

Childcare Jobs

check_boxBabysitting
check_box_outline_blankNannying
check_box_outline_blankBefore School Care
check_box_outline_blankAfter School Care

Au Pair Jobs

radio_button_uncheckedYes
check_circleNo

Tutoring Jobs

check_boxPrimary School
check_box_outline_blankHigh School

Hello families, I look forward to meeting you! But first, a little about me: I have my Diploma of Children's Services, a Bachelor of Science (majoring Zoology), and a Masters of Conservation Biology. I also have a current Blue Card, and Senior First Aid and CPR training. I have nearly 15yrs experience in Childcare and Outside School Hours Care, and extensive experience in babysitting (especially while I was undergoing my university degrees). I have also worked as a Wildlife Education Officer at Lone Pine Koala Sanctuary, teaching curriculum to students from prep to yr7, as well as running interactive school holiday programs. This brought together my passion for teaching with my passion for conservation. I am nurturing, enthusiastic, forthcoming and attentive, to all children in my care. I like to provide a range of activities that stimulate each child's physical, cognitive and creative interests, that support them emotionally, and that are just straight-up fun! If you are interested in babysitting: please let me know what your child's interests are, so I can come prepared with a range of ideas, activities and experiences, created specifically for them. Feel free to create a list of any other relevant information you would like me to know, especially for the younger children (i.e. dietary requirements or preferences, comforters, sleep times, any rules or strategies you would like me to follow through with, etc.). Also, if you require any additional information from me, please feel free to ask; any form of childcare is also about caring for the parents as well, and putting your mind at ease. If you require tutoring: I am able to tutor English and all Sciences (prep - yr12), and Maths (prep - yr7). Feel free to message me through your child's current curriculum topics so I can brush up before our session, and so I can come prepared with strategies and activities to make learning easier and more interesting for them. Please be aware, I am not available Tuesday nights, as I volunteer as a Team Leader for Rosies Outreach. Also, I am currently working casually in childcare, so notice for weekday arrangements is preferred. Feel free to contact me if you require proof of attainments or references.

Parent Reviews

1 families in your area recommended Jorja...
"Jorja was flexible, helpful and the kids loved her, particularly her hair curling skills and knowledge of all things animal! Would 100% recommend."
From Paula - Mudgeeraba

First Aid & Accreditation

  • Certificate III in Early Childhood Education and Care
  • Diploma in Early Childhood Education and Care
  • First Aid
  • First Aid for Babies & Children
  • Asthma Management
  • Anaphylaxix Management
  • CPR
  • Advanced Rescusitation Techniques
  • Working With Children Check (Paid) - Verified
    Verified On: 1/6/2019
    Expires On: 19/4/2021

Special Needs Experience

Throughout my many years in childcare, I have had numerous children, within my care, that have had various types of special needs or that required extra care. As such, I have worked with various agencies, departments, and families alike, to develop and implement alternate strategies and provide the extra emotional support and consistency required for the child. I also have experience volunteering with 'Riding for the Disabled'. Here I, assisted the participants in arena activities, trail rides and horse meet and greets.

Childcare Experience

I have been working with children for nearly 15yrs now, whether it be through childcare, OSHC, nannying, babysitting, or as a wildlife education officer. I am comfortable and experienced working with all age groups. I like the different experiences and interactions you get from each age group, just like the different experiences and interactions you get from each individual personality.

Tutoring Experience

Apart from my primary school tutoring experience, I have also done some tertiary tutoring on the side, while at university. I provide activities, tools, information and guidance, but I don't give the answers to specific questions. Instead, I encourage critical thinking so that the child can derive the answers themselves. This gives them greater sense of accomplishment when they succeed on their own, and also shows me they understand the concepts, rather than just focusing on answering a single question correctly. Encouragement is the key!

Primary School

School Years: Kindergarten, Year 1, Year 2, Year 3, Year 4, Year 5, Year 6
Subjects: English, Reading, Maths