Jackson-Grant profile photo

Jackson-Grant - 23

Jackson-Grant profile photo
star_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border
0.00 Average Rating
1 Day Response Rate

Childcare Jobs

check_boxBabysitting
check_boxNannying
check_boxBefore School Care
check_boxAfter School Care

Au Pair Jobs

radio_button_uncheckedYes
check_circleNo

Tutoring Jobs

check_boxPrimary School
check_boxHigh School

Hey guys I currently work as an SSO within the Department for Education at a primary school with children that have severe and multiple disabilities. Some of my duties include but are not limited to: supporting multiple children with Literacy and Numeracy (basic reading, writing, spelling of their name and basic maths using Numicon tiles), lying, standing and hand tasks (getting children out of their wheelchairs and strengthening their muscles. In 2016, I travelled to the USA to work at an American Summer Camp as Camp Counsellor for 4 months. We were required to undertake an intense 2 week training on the childrens safety, how to deal with different situations and behaviours for example bed wetting and conflict, and how to facilitate all of the campers different activities efficiently and safely. Myself and another counsellor were required to live in the bunk with a group of 8 children. We were required to attend to any needs throughout the night. We were required to make sure our campers were eating healthy and getting adequate sleep during the time of their stay. In 2017, I travelled over to NSW and worked at Thredbo Resort where I worked in the children's ski school program with ages 3 - 7. My role predominantly involved driving the Thredboland train up the hill with the children sitting inside the trailer, their ski gear and their instructors holding onto the back. I was also required to help with some meal prep, supervise lunch times, help children put sunscreen on their face and a variety of other tasks. I have had other different jobs in between but from working with children, I have found that this is the industry I want to be in specialising in disability. I am also a good resume and cover letter writer and would be happy to assist your child in finding their first job :) Thank you for reading my profile!


First Aid & Accreditation

  • First Aid
  • Asthma Management
  • CPR
  • Working With Children Check (Paid) - Verified
    Verified On: 29/6/2019
    Expires On: 21/6/2021

Special Needs Experience

I have no tertiary experience in special needs but have had training in: Epilepsy awareness training: learning about different types of seizures How to safely give Intranasal Midazolam to a seizing child. (The Epilepsy Centre SA) A 6 hour session on conductive education: Strategies to support full participation of students with disability Content and teaching strategies of the teaching area Engage in professional learning and improve practice (Department for Education) I can provide evidence of these if required.

Childcare Experience

I am comfortable in dealing with children from the age of 4 years old upwards. In my current role I am required to assist with feeding and toileting so I'm quite comfortable with changing nappies, pull ups and helping out at meal times.

Tutoring Experience

I am passionate about literacy. Reading, writing and spelling are my main strengths. My English skills are quite highly regarded.

Primary School

School Years: Kindergarten, Year 1, Year 2, Year 3, Year 4, Year 5, Year 6
Subjects: English, Reading, Typing

High School

School Years: Year 7, Year 8, Year 9, Year 10, Year 11, Year 12
Subjects: English, Business & Technology, Trumpet