Deb profile photo

Deb - 54

Deb profile photo
starstarstarstarstar
5.00 Average Rating
1 Day Response Rate
1 Parent Reviews
1Jobs Completed
0Jobs Cancelled

Childcare Jobs

check_boxBabysitting
check_boxNannying
check_boxBefore School Care
check_boxAfter School Care

Au Pair Jobs

radio_button_uncheckedYes
check_circleNo

Tutoring Jobs

check_box_outline_blankPrimary School
check_box_outline_blankHigh School

Hi, I am an experienced child carer who holds a social work degree (U.Q), as well as specialised childcare and education qualifications from Southbank TAFE.. After many years working with children and families in the domestic violence refuge system,as a support worker, I left to have my own three children ,who are now independent. Upon my return to the workforce ,I found it somewhat difficult to re- enter social work ,so hence, I decided to harness both my love and experience with children , professionally and personally, and pursued additional studies to up-skill in this area. I have been actively involved in childcare, working as a paid relief worker at the childcare centre where I completed my practical experience. I have since worked with many families, providing before and after school care,homework support, and provision of meals. I have also organised washing, ironing etc of the children's clothing. My role has meant parent/s arrive, if desired, to their children bathed,fed and homework complete. I have held one position for three and a half years, working with a seven year old boy , another with a family four afternoons in pick-up , dinner provision and care of a three year old boy.I have just completed three school terms picking up two seven and ten year old girls ,transporting them to their after school activities,then returning them home where I supported them to complete piano practice, household chores and the ubiquitous homework! Prior to that I offered support and care with another young girl , providing both school pick-up and homework help. I certainly don't lack in experience! My caring ethos involves modelling desired behaviour, sharing information, kindness, compassion and understanding. Prior to studying Social Work, I completed 2 years of a Bachelor of Environmental Science at Griffith University, so I love to explore and discover the why and how of questions with your child. I approach life and hence caring for your child with an attitude of enquiry and fun. I look forward to meeting your family. 👪 😂🌼 I am currently looking for before/after school, daytime or weekend care. I have recently relocated to be closer to my family in Milton N.S.W from Brisbane.

Parent Reviews

1 families in your area recommended Deb...
"Miss Deb is a really lovely caring person, we are very happy and satisfied with her help. Miss Deb offered to come to meet us twice ,so we, especially my daughter can spend some time with her and to get to know her before she start to picking up my daughter from school. We are very grateful for Miss Deb to offer that to us as it helps to build up the trust that we have with each others. Miss Deb is a really thoughtful and thorough person, she text me when she arrives school and again after picking up my daughter from school, so I know that my daughter is in safe hands. At home, she will help my daughter with her school works or playing games with her, every time when I arrive home , I will hear my daughter's laughing before I step into the house, it is so wonderful to see she is so happy. I will highly recommend Miss Deb to any of my friends, if they need someone loving and caring to look after their kids."
From Maggie - Holland Park West

First Aid & Accreditation

  • Certificate III in Early Childhood Education and Care
  • First Aid
  • CPR
  • Surf Life Saving Bronze

Special Needs Experience

Some autism spectrum and positive behaviour support training.

Childcare Experience

I have just spent the last three years working, each day, with two children from two different families whose age ranges from pre-school to Year 2. Prior to this I had several of months at a childcare centre working mainly with babies and toddlers, but also spent the past few weeks with the pre-schoolers which I loved. I have grown up children, so I have been through parenting and know how all consuming it can be. I am loving, kind and gentle and believe in modelling behaviour expectations to children. I am a believer in Positive behaviour support, whereby we focus attention on desired behaviour, not the undesirable. This area is of great interest to me, hence I am participating in further training and development while also continuing my tafe Early Childhood care and education program. I am blue card ( working with children) certified.